That was a close one…

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: „Grand Slam.“

It was my last Semester of university and i was nearly done with all my exams. I studied physics by the way, not my proudest moment, but I was quiet good at it. At the time, like most students I had a job to pay the bills and because the day time was occupied by lectures and learning I worked at night in a night club. Nothing fancy, just your regular club in a not so big town.

Anyway, I had been working three nights in a row, the Weekend and a concert and I was quit worn out. Then my Boss called, if I wanted to work for the fourth night, the night before my last exam. I knew it would be absolutely stupid to work, because it was a math exam and I had slept a combined 20 hours over the last four nights. But he kept begging and begging and offering more and more money for the shift until I finally said yes. The shift was not so bad, but it started at 11:30 pm and I was barely able to keep my eyes open. All the coffee in the world could not shake of this feeling of exhaustion and so I tried a different approach: I drank two shots of vodka. That might seam stupid, but it really works. I was less tired and I could finish my shift with ease. But having not slept for so long I was afraid to go to sleep after my shift. So I stayed up und before the exam started i drank another shot of vodka. I only have a wage memory of the exam, but at the end i was sure I had failed. I just went to bed and slept for the rest of the day and all night.

But, after one week the results came back and I aced it. I only got some Points reduced, because the professor was not able to read my handwriting. But that was and will be for all time my „Grand Slam“. I would not recommend it…

Published in: on Juli 17, 2015 at 8:54 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ovesworld.wordpress.com/2015/07/17/that-was-a-close-one/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentHinterlasse einen Kommentar

  1. Ah, what we could get away with in our youth!


Kommentar verfassen

